The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

Morning Brief — Monday, October 20

The New York Observer reports that Titlepage, Daniel Menaker’s web-based author interview program, is on hiatus (pending new sources of funding).

***

Ed Champion is also suspending interviews on The Bat Segundo Show, for now, although he hopes to get his podcast rolling again in the new year.

***

The Media Mob reports, via Politico, that CNN’s Glenn Beck is heading to the Fox News Channel.

***

The New Yorker business reporter James Surowiecki will now also be writing (about business, markets and the economy) for the magazine’s The Balance Sheet blog, according to MediaBistro.

***

As all book publicists know, fiction can be tough to promote.  Build Buzz lists five tips for promoting novels.

October 20, 2008 - Posted by | Miscellaneous, Update Your Database | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Just to be clear on this: There will be a minimum of eight to ten more episodes of Segundo before the end of the year, representing the current backlog I’m sitting on and future interviews that I have scheduled. I have suspended the scheduling of future interviews, for economic and personal reasons (nothing too dire, just being practical). However, I’ve been in talks and received some strong signs from my efforts that Segundo will continue in 2009 in a partially sponsored form. (And indeed, I have talked with a few publicists about interviews that I’m setting up in February.)

    The show will continue in some form, even if it turns out to be a monthly special. However, because I realize that author interview opportunities are eroding, I am working very hard to ensure that I can sustain the show’s frequency on a weekly basis.

    Comment by ed | October 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment