The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

Morning Brief — Friday, May 30

Mary-Kate Figur is the new Editorial Coordinator at Kirkus Reviews who can answer questions about review status or other related general inquiries.  She reminds us to check their “coming-soon page” (which I think I have seen in the past, although when I just checked for it, the Coming Soon link took me to the home page).  If you need her contact information but did not receive Figur’s email, you can check Kirkus’ About Us page or try calling 866-890-8541.

***

Publishers Weekly reports that the Amazon Bookstore Coop, a feminist bookstore in Minneapolis, will close at the end of June.

***

For those of you not at BEA, like me, you can look at photos of people at BEA.  Carolyn Kellogg of Pinky’s Paperhaus (and the L.A. Times’ book blog Jacket Copy) posts some pix of her and some other well-known lit / publishing bloggers whose blogs you may be familiar with but whose faces you may not know.

***

I thought this post entitled The Art of No on PR Squared might resonate with book publicists.  I would like to draw your attention to the following quote: “No, I’m sorry, your Enterprise IT Security product probably won’t be a good fit on the TODAY Show.  We’ll both have egg on our face if we try that outlet.”  Happy half-day Friday.  (Unless you’re in LA.  In which case you’ll be working through the weekend.)

May 30, 2008 - Posted by | Miscellaneous, Update Your Database | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment