The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

Things to be thankful for

As it became clear this Thanksgiving weekend exactly how un-thankful some are, I thought I would focus instead on some (book publicity-related) things for which I am thankful.

Informative blogs.  I wish I had more time to keep up with media and publishing blogs (many of which are listed on my blogroll).

Mobile apps.  Applications like Facebook, Open Beak and Tweetdeck that run on mobile phones / PDAs are incredibly useful for keeping in touch with friends and colleagues and for staying abreast of the news.

File sharing.  I’m a sucker for all things Google, but you have to admit, these crazy kids have a good thing going.  Google Calendar allows author and publicist to share a book tour itinerary.  Google Docs can also be used for sharing itineraries (or press material).  Google Wave, a mash-up of sorts between Google Groups, Google Docs and plain vanilla email, is the hot new app these days, although it’s being beta tested now so you can only use it if you have an invite.  (And if you have been invited, please realize that it is, in fact, your patriotic duty to accept and help test the product.)

Syndication.  We’re all busy,  so one of my favorite book publicity tools is Booktour.com.  I enter author events on this site and they’re automatically picked up by numerous online calendars and websites.  Events also appear on the writer’s Author Page on Amazon.

My colleagues.  I went to my 15th-year high school reunion this weekend and was asked — probably about 15 times — if I like what I do.  And the answer is that after 10 years at my publishing house, I can honestly say that I enjoy and am fulfilled by what  I do and appreciate and respect (most) of the people with whom I work, both colleagues as well as authors.

All the lemons.  But let’s not go overboard with the love fest, here, because nothing’s perfect and it never will be.  The best I can hope for is that I’ll learn from my (and other people’s) mistakes, that I’ll gain valuable experience from any situation no matter how frustrating or infuriating and that I will think of silver linings / making lemonade instead of hiring a hit man.  (Oh, wait — did I say that out loud?)

Frozen yogurt.  Well, life’s not *all* about book publicity.

***

As an author / book publicist, what are you thankful for?

November 30, 2009 - Posted by | Miscellaneous

10 Comments »

  1. I am thankful for everyday that I have on this earth and for a great family and good health. I am thankful that I am reviewing books for bookpleasures and hopefully helping someone’s career in writing to soar. I am thankful for my sense of humor in the many difficult situations I face daily when dealing with my mom, her aides and her Alzheimer’s. I am thankful for great friends and authors, like you. fran

    Comment by gabina49 | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. I am thankful for the optimism that pervades this business even when times are tough. From the authors, to the agents, to the editors, to the publishers, to the publicists, to the sales reps to the bookstore folk and bloggers. I’ve been in this business from the late 80s and the best part is being surrounded by intelligent and interesting people who believe that books are a good idea.

    Comment by Jean | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. As a publicist, I’m thankful for many of the same things you are–syndication, great blogs (like this one), awesome colleagues, etc.

    I’m also thankful for authors and publishers that do everything they can to support their publicists–they make promoting books a lot more successful.

    Comment by Rusty Shelton | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yen, this is great and I love your attitude. I am thankful for your blog to keep up with!

    Comment by Courtney | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. Professionally, I am thankful that the Orpah question will cease to exist next year!

    Comment by Jessica Napp | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. As a publicist, I get to read great books and “hang out” with cool authors!

    PS. Love the Oprah comment. ) )

    Comment by Skye Wentworth | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. As a blogger, I am thankful for authors who take the time to participate on my site, and for publicists who do their homework and treat bloggers as individuals and not a mass of pseudo-journalists.

    Comment by david | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. I am thankful there are people in the world compelled to put the story in their head down on paper for others to read. I am not one of those people, but my world would be a much smaller place without writers. Before books were my business, they were my passion.

    Comment by Renee Giroux | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  9. I am thankful for books and the people who bring them to us, for my ability to read, for the love of reading that was instilled in me by my parents and teachers. I am also thankful for all the wonderful book publicists, both in-house and freelance, who are true professionals and thus a joy to work with.

    (Frozen yogurt. Yes! And my gazpacho.)

    Comment by Lauren Roberts | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. […] page’s new look? (dvice.com)The First Google Wave Search You Must Know (smarterware.org)Things to be thankful for (yodiwan.wordpress.com) Share this on del.icio.usDigg this!Share this on RedditStumble upon […]

    Pingback by Flickr and Picassa extension (robot) for Google wave | Google Wave Extensions | December 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

