The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

What I Did Yesterday

Back in mid-December, Agent Kristin at Pub Rants blogged about what she was doing in the mad dash to tie up loose ends before the holiday hiatus.  I love that kind of stuff, being a bit of a career voyeur myself, and thought it would be fun to try to log my own activities.

The opportunity presented itself yesterday, when I spent the morning glued to my computer, looked up, saw it was lunchtime, and realized I had accomplished scant “real” work, i.e., items on my To Do List.  I figured I had to take stock.  Where had the morning gone?

Over some “double” sauteed pork (once wasn’t enough, apparently), wonton soup and an eggroll, I considered.  I wrote yesterday’s blog post on the Blackberry on the subway, so I didn’t spend much time doing that when I arrived at work.  I did spend a couple minutes checking the Chicago Marathon website to see when registration opens for the 2009 race (February 1, for any of you considering running 26.2 — that’s miles folks, not minutes — on October 11), but otherwise it was nose to the grind.

I checked Nexis for mentions of my books or authors, informed an author about an upcoming (planned) review, responded to half a dozen requests for books and JPEGs (for my own books and authors), forwarded another dozen requests for other peoples’ (and other departments’) books and authors, followed up on a couple potential author events, talked to IT about reducing the size of my massive email mailbox and about backing up my archived files, sent a book’s publicity schedule to an editor who doesn’t realize she can pull up the information herself (must remind editorial department about the online publicity system, again), registered RSVPs for the Publisher’s Publicity Association January lunch with NPR producers, exchanged messages with a couple publicists in another department in an effort to decipher the mystery that are SAP billing codes, emailed a producer who was too swamped with holiday detritus to fully consider my earlier pitch, and attempted to send galleys to an author (but was stymied by my inability to locate a Jiffy Bag large enough to accomodate five books.  My company is remarkably stingy about Jiffy Bags — when we ask the mail room for them, we have to tell them the title of the book being mailed, as though Office Services suspects us of nefarious deeds like … hawking packing envelopes on Ebay.)

And that left me at my double sauteed pork.

January 15, 2009 - Posted by | Miscellaneous | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I recognize that day – I’ve had many like that. There’s real work being done, but none of it is what’s officially listed on my “to-do” list. I always tell myself that if I’ve lost time to handling review requests, forwarding media leads, building my reviewer lists and other things that really do benefit our authors then it’s time well spent. Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by Paula Krapf | January 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

