The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

Cool author websites

Wednesday evening Rebecca Skloot posted about Sloane Crosley’s website for her new book on the NBCC blog Critical Mass.  This morning, the Ad Man wrote up Toby Barlow’s site for his new book on M. J. Rose’s blog Buzz, Balls & Hype.  They couldn’t look more different (Barlow’s is heavy on flash, Crosley’s has a more basic vibe) yet both are equally cool and creative.  Both also include information vital for author sites — author bio, events, reviews, buy links — and I’m sure will attract a lot of attention from readers.

One now-standard website feature both are missing, though, are permalinks — unique URLs for each page/section of a site.  For example, if someone wanted to link to Barlow’s or Crosley’s events (or reviews or bio), they would only be able to link to the site as a whole, not to the events (or reviews or bios) sections on their respective sites.  Not the end of the world, but in this day and age where people expect sites to load instantaneously and kids think email is inconvenient, it’s worthwhile trying to save readers a few seconds.

I was interested to see one that resource Crosley utilizes — which most of us are personally familiar with but I haven’t seen it used on author websites (or, at least, not on my author websites) — is Flickr.  It doesn’t look as sophisticated as housing pictures on the author site itself, but it works — the first series of Crosley’s Flickr photos has more than 1200 views.  (I don’t know exactly how much it costs to construct different types of websites, but I’m guessing that “outsourcing” pictures to an online photo archive like Flickr can save a dime, so Web savvy authors on a budget might consider this.)

April 10, 2008 - Posted by | Online Marketing | ,

27 Comments »

  1. Jason Boog at The Publishing Spot offers more examples of author websites with very different looks / styles: http://www.thepublishingspot.com/2008/04/what_sloane_crosley_jeff_gordi.html.

    Comment by Yen | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Charles Bock’s website for Beautiful Children is pretty amazing. beautifulchildren.net. Every character has a themed page with some fairly excellent moving parts.

    The entry page also says that a different indie band donated the music for each page. Which methinks is pretty excellent.

    Comment by freddie banks | April 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. Interesting you mention Bock’s website. When I originally wrote this post in the evening after seeing the Critical Mass mention of Crosley’s site, I compared it to Bock’s site. The next morning, as I was looking through my RSS reader, I saw that Buzz, Balls & Hype had written up Barlow’s site, so I changed my post! (And Barlow’s is the more current book, so it made sense from a “news” perspective to mention it.)

    Comment by Yen | April 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same unwanted rehashed information. Great read!

    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

    Comment by Recycling Facts | May 11, 2013 | Reply

  5. It’s not my first time to visit this site, i am visiting this website dailly and get pleasant data from here daily.

    Comment by The Interlace | May 27, 2013 | Reply

  6. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this website is actually pleasant and the users are actually sharing pleasant thoughts.

    Comment by pinterest.Com | June 28, 2013 | Reply

  7. No matter if some one searches for his vital thing, therefore he/she
    desires to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is
    maintained over here.

    Comment by buy gold coin | July 13, 2013 | Reply

  8. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about jovani dresses.
    Regards

    Comment by Prom hairstyle | July 13, 2013 | Reply

  9. Fantastic blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Many thanks!

    Comment by blogs.rediff.com | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  10. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i got here to go back the favor?
    .I am trying to find issues to enhance my web site!
    I assume its good enough to make use of some
    of your ideas!!

    Comment by Roger | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  11. Hello, constantly i used to check blog posts here in the early hours in the morning, as i love to gain
    knowledge of more and more.

    Comment by Senibong Cove | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  12. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

    Comment by best place to buy gold bullion | July 23, 2013 | Reply

  13. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first
    comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum
    it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to
    everything. Do you have any tips and hints for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Comment by Santo | September 21, 2013 | Reply

  14. Excellent blog you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours
    nowadays. I really appreciate people like you!

    Take care!!

    Comment by carb cycling diet plan | October 2, 2013 | Reply

  15. Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I would like to say
    that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

    Comment by foot brace | October 7, 2013 | Reply

  16. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for
    your weblog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

    Comment by Florrie | October 8, 2013 | Reply

  17. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this website is actually good and the users
    are genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

    Comment by Erection pills | October 16, 2013 | Reply

  18. Wow! At last I got a web site from where I be able to actually get helpful information regarding my study and knowledge.

    Comment by Http://Www.Dailymotion.Com | October 17, 2013 | Reply

  19. I was curious if you ever considered changing
    the structure of your blog? Its very well written; I
    love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot
    of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you
    could space it out better?

    Comment by how to get rid of acne | October 18, 2013 | Reply

  20. Hi there, I wish for to subscribe for this webpage to obtain most up-to-date updates, thus where can i do it
    please assist.

    Comment by carb Addicts diet | October 18, 2013 | Reply

  21. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning
    this post and the rest of the site is also very good.

    Comment by Mitchel | October 21, 2013 | Reply

  22. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a
    few of the images aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

    Comment by quickest way to burn fat | October 21, 2013 | Reply

  23. Very quickly this web page will be famous among all blogging
    and site-building people, due to it’s good postsmichael kors walletDo not let your
    youngster to understand their SSN Light Grey Paisley Classic Classic Paisley till
    its essential Young kids have no cause to know their
    social security amounts and even to get access to
    their SSN card. “To me, it appears as though some kind of disco apron”
    Grey Paisley Classic Classic Paisley said Kors, while Heidi piled begin,
    “I think it is butt ugly.” (I came across it sweet and gray
    Bailey Button flirty.) They seemed positively Green Short Classic Classic Short aggravated by Ivy’s outfit,
    repeatedly stating that she had a pair of white toile pants rendering itkiro-tv http://www.murano-glas.comThis is because many
    Filipino consumers today wants to have a relatively more Black Short
    Ultimate Ultimate Short pleasant and tidy skin.Black Bailey Button Sound similar to a plan?

    Good. [Spectacular Hubble Telescope Silver Short Sparkles Classic Classic Short Sparkles Photos].

    Our prime average plus the awards resulted in Ponech didn’t Sangria Classic Argyle Knit Knit Classic Argyle possess trouble getting approved to speed
    up his studiesblue-bombers michael kors kids shoesSteps away,
    the quaint harborside village of Port Jefferson beckons visitors accompanied by a
    vast array of unique shops, restaurants to
    match any palate along with plethora of interesting Sand Bind Ultimate Ultimate Bind historical and
    recreational use throughout the year. If you desire to remove so what happened at the police Sand Casuals station, you definitely
    must take away the information derived by your investigators from itwww.photomariagenancy.com

    Comment by ugg boots | October 27, 2013 | Reply

  24. It’s actually very complex in this busy life to listen news on Television, therefore I only use internet
    for that purpose, and take the most recent news.

    Comment by http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLJ7GmuGBv0 | November 6, 2013 | Reply

  25. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help
    from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where
    to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?
    Cheers

    Comment by Melanie | November 12, 2013 | Reply

  26. I truly love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you develop this
    web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create
    my own personal blog and would like to find out where you got this from or just what the theme is called.
    Thanks!

    Comment by Car Town Hack | November 19, 2013 | Reply

  27. You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I
    in finding this matter to be really one thing that I feel I might
    never understand. It sort of feels too complicated and very wide for me.
    I am having a look ahead to your subsequent put up, I’ll try
    to get the grasp of it!

    Comment by TéLécharger Minecraft Gratuitement | November 26, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

