The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

Morning Brief

After a good run, the Litblog Co-op, a network of lit bloggers, is shutting down

***

Invisible Inkling brought my attention to Helpareporter.com, which seems like a good place for authors to register.  I can’t quite figure out how exactly it works (although I did, admittedly, get distracted when the guy running the site started talking about marathons, tris and adventure races — I’m doing my first marathon in a week), so I subscribed and will let you know what happens.  In the meantime, you can check this blog for more information and you can find Peter Shankman on Twitter or Facebook.

***

For those of you who publish or publicize literature in translation, make sure to take a look at this Three Percent post about the languages from which we most frequently translate literature.  French and Spanish are at the top of the list, not surprisingly, but Arabic is actually #3.

***

This morning, Shelf Awareness via CNET ran a piece on a new Penguin UK initiative called We Tell Stories, that has readers (players?) working their way through a well-known novel with the aid of Google Maps and various mashups.  (I’m sure everyone has heard the term mashup, but for those of you who aren’t sure exactly what it is, a mashup is  the web equivalent of PB & J.)  This sort of reminds me of the Olden Days when my friends and I used to play the computer game Below the Root, based on the novel of the same name by Zilpha Keatley Snyder (but something tells me the We Tell Stories folks won’t be telling their stories on an Apple IIGS).  Anyway, the reason why I thought this might be of interest is because I wonder how long it will be before an author incorporates a feature like this on his / her website …

March 20, 2008 - Posted by | Online Marketing, Pitching Tips, Update Your Database | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

