The Book Publicity Blog

News, Tips, Trends and Miscellany for Book Publicists

Morning Brief — Tuesday, June 10

If you’re an author considering blogging (or someone in publishing encouraging an author to blog), keep in mind that actually writing the blog is only one part of the equation.  Another piece of the puzzle is getting people to read the blog.  Social media guru Chris Brogan explains how to get and expand an audience for a blogCopyblogger also posts about how to increase blog traffic.

***

Booktour.com, a site that lists author events across the country, has made some changes, including providing an interactive map of events in your area.

June 10, 2008 - Posted by | Blogs, Events, Online Marketing | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks for posting these–I sure need ‘em. I’ve been working on my blog to theoretically build more of an audience for my upcoming book “Homemade Hollywood,” and every visit to the site that I can generate is a plus. The tips on those sites will definitely come in handy.

    Comment by cliveyoung | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Yen,

    As a follow-up to the conversation about whether/how to blog, there is one other thing to consider: the vocabulary of blogging. It can be scary for some.

    We have a blog and podcast where we talk about books we love and other things literary (linked from my name on this post). We’ve had a great response from people to whom we’ve connected online. But, much like authors on tour, we also regularly talk to customers in bookstores — and the minute we mention the word “blog” or “podcast”, I can see a sense of panic in the eyes of the person. I often hear the response, “Oh, I don’t do that.” I’ve approached this somewhat by using the term ‘website’ instead of ‘blog.’ I haven’t found a non-threatening equivalent for ‘podcast.’ If you or anyone has any good ideas at promoting these sites to people who are not overly familiar with online resources, I’d appreciate it.

    Thanks. I’ve been getting some good ideas from your blog (oops, I mean, website).

    Ann

    Comment by Ann | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. I never knew that there was so many book blogs. Thanks for sharing I will Bookmark this page and check them all out.

    Comment by Will Robinson | September 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

